Editorial Board

Meet the Editors...


Eric KandelEric Kandel was born in Vienna, Austria, and immigrated to the United States in 1939. He received a B.A. at Harvard College in 1952 and an M.D. at the New York University School of medicine in 1956. After internship Kandel did three years of postdoctoral research in the Laboratory of Neurophysiology at the National Institutes of Health, working on the cell biology of the hippocampus. From 1960 to 1962 he took residency training in psychiatry at the Massachusetts Mental Health Center, Harvard Medical School. He spent 1962 to 1963 as an NSF postdoctoral fellow at the Institute Marey in Paris working on Aplysia with Ladislav Tauc. He then returned to the Harvard Medical School in 1963 as a faculty member of the Department of Psychiatry. In 1965 Kandel moved to New York University as Associate Professor and attained the rank of Professor in 1968. He was recruited to the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Columbia University in 1974 as the founding Director of the Center for Neurobiology and Behavior. He became a University Professor in 1983 and a Senior Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute a year later. In addition to being a Professor in Psychiatry and Physiology and Molecular Biophysics, Kandel is currently a Professor in the Department of Biochemistry and Biophysics at Columbia. In addition, he is the Fred Kavli Professor and Director of the Kavli Institute for Brain Science. During the past several years, he has extended his studies from simple forms of learning and memory in Aplysia to more complex forms of spatial learning in mice. Here he has pioneered the study of behavior in genetically modified mice by developing methods for expressing genes in a regulated and regionally specific manner. This work has been recognized with the DANA Award in Neuroscience and by the Gerard Prize of the Society of Neuroscience.

Kandel has been honored with the Albert Lasker Basic Medical Research Prize, the National Medal of Science by President Reagan, the Gairdner International Award for Outstanding Achievement in Medical Science, the Harvey Prize of the Technion in Israel, the Bristol-Myers Squibb Award for Distinguished Achievement in Neuroscience Research, the Wolf Prize in Israel and the Nobel Prize for Physiology or Medicine in 2000. Kandel also was elected to Germany’s Orden Pour Le Mérite Für Wissenschaften Und Künste.

He is a founding editor of Principles of Neural Science. He has written a book about his life and work for the general public entitled In Search of Memory: The Emergence of a New Science of Mind, which has been adapted into a documentary by the German filmmaker, Petra Seeger. He recently published The Age of Insight. The Quest to Understand the Unconscious in Art, Mind, and Brain: From Vienna 1900 to the Present.


Tom JessellThomas Jessell Tom Jessell is Claire Tow Professor in the Departments of Neuroscience, and Biochemistry and Molecular Biophysics at Columbia University. He is an Investigator of the Howard Hughes Medical Institute and co-Director of Columbia’s Mind Brain Behavior Initiative, and Kavli Institute for Brain Science. Jessell is a Fellow of the Royal Society of London, a Foreign Associate of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, and is a recipient of the Kavli Prize in Neuroscience and the Canada Gairdner International Award.

Jessell’s research examines the cellular and molecular mechanisms that control the assembly and function of mammalian motor systems. His work has defined how diverse neuronal subtypes assemble into functional circuits and how the precision of network wiring controls refined motor skills.


Steven SiegelbaumSteven Siegelbaum was an undergraduate at Harvard College, where he received an A.B. in Biochemical Sciences in 1974. He then attended graduate school at Yale University, where he received his Ph.D. in the Department of Pharmacology in 1978 and studied the importance of calcium in the regulation of the electrical activity of the heart in the laboratory of Richard Tsien. Siegelbaum then joined the laboratory of David Colquhoun as a postdoctoral fellow in the Pharmacology Department at University College London, where he examined the actions of local anesthetics on nicotinic acetylcholine receptors at the neuromuscular junction. He then spent one year as a postdoctoral fellow with Dr. Philippe Ascher, in the Laboratoire de Neurobiologie, at the Ecole Normale Superieure in Paris, where he studied the regulation of nicotinic acetylcholine receptors during early muscle development.

Siegelbaum became an Assistant Professor in the Department of Pharmacology and Center for Neurobiology and Behavior at Columbia University Medical Center in 1981. He was promoted to Associate Professor in 1988 and Professor in 1992. In 1986 he joined the Howard Hughes Medical Institute as an Assistant Investigator and was appointed as Investigator in 1992. In 1987 he received the Herbert J. Kayden Award of the New York Academy of Sciences in Biomedical Science. Siegelbaum became Professor of Neuroscience and Pharmacology upon the creation of the Department of Neuroscience in 2007. In January of 2009 he became Chair of the Department of Neuroscience. He was elected as a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2012. Siegelbaum has served on the editorial boards of Channels, the Journal of General Physiology, the Journal of Neurophysiology, the Journal of Neuroscience and Neuron.


James H. Schwartz, MD, PhD*
Professor of Physiology & Cellular Biophysics,
Psychiatry, and Neurology,
Center for Neurobiology and Behavior
Columbia University College of Physicians & Surgeons


A. J. Hudspeth, MD, PhD
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
F. M. Kirby Professor and Head of Laboratory
The Rockefeller University


Stay Informed

Sign up for monthly updates and previews of forthcoming products, and learn about new books, special offers, discounts and promotions within your field.